What Cancer Thought Me

How is it possible that when you have the ones you love around you and be there for you whenever you need them you feel so alone? How is it possible to feel guilty, night after night for disciplining your children? How is it possible that you have the need to explain yourself to everyone that you need a break from your own children? How is it possible to ask someone to do something so many times that you end up doing it yourself? How is it possible for so many things to go wrong in a run of a day that you lose count? How is it possible to feel like nothing good ever happens to you when there is so much good all around? How is it that you can feel like no matter what you do, it’s never good enough?

As a society we can be so self involved. We can be so selfish. We can be so unkind. We can be so rude. We can be so heartless. We can be so useless. We can be such complainers. 

I would like you to take a minute and think about the last time you actually put someone else before yourself. Just think about the last time you went without something so that someone else could have that something. Just think about the last time you decided not to talk about someone behind their back. Just think about the last time you showed someone compassion without an agenda. Just think about the last time you stood up for the sake of someone else. We are all guilty of doing something that’s not neighbourly. My question is “why?” What is it about “us” that makes “us” think we are more important than the next person and what is it about “us” that makes “us” think “we” are all that matters? Why do “we” think “our” problems are more important than the next persons?

I’m not perfect, I’m far from it. I’m just as guilty as the next person for many things, but what gives me that right? What gives anyone the right? Why do we have to be all about ourselves? Why do we have to feel that we are privileged? We are all humans of this world who deserve the right to be respected to be treated kindly.

If you have beaten cancer, maybe another illness, I’m sure you would agree that it changes a person. It gives you a whole new look at life and an empathic mind set to the people you encounter. I could be having the worst kind of day possible, but if I encountered someone having a difficult time, I would put my own problems aside just to help them, even if it is to only put a smile on their face.

I was once told that I was nothing but a fake, someone who is looking for attention and that everyone is laughing behind my back because they truly know what I am like and my blog is a joke. I actually starting to doubt if I was being genuine, I actually thought that maybe this person had a point. But I can say without a doubt that cancer has changed me, ask anyone who has had cancer. It makes you appreciate the smaller things in life. It makes you sensitive to others. It makes you want to treat others how you would like them to treat you. It makes you super sensitive when it comes to anything hateful, even over the silliest little things. Without a doubt we are all fake sometimes, yes, I am fake at times. There are times I smile in public when I am having the worst kind of day. There are days I tell my loved ones I am having a good day when I may be crying the whole day. There are days I will socialize, although all I want to do is run away.

Cancer has thought me so much and given me so much. The biggest lesson I learned was I need to be more compassionate to the people surrounding me and treat people with kindness, respect and love…….lots of loveπŸ’ž

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

